Posted by: Michael George Daniel | November 9, 2007

Spiral Dynamics

When it comes to blogging, I guess you will get the full mixture of writing about both the personal turmoil involved in making progress with the topics addressed here, as well as periodic, I hope, insight, growth and useful, valuable ideas, information and context. I personally continue to undergo rapid changes right now. The initiation of this blog is one manifestation of this change. It occurred during National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), a time in which the output of writing is greatly increased.

The NaNoWriMo influence began last year. I read Chris Baty’s book No Plot No Problem having always wanted to write a novel. Up until mid-life, I always found fiction to be the most enjoyable reading. I seldom read non-fiction until age forty-five, and for school. After reading the book, I decided to sign up for NaNoWriMo and try to write the proscribed 50,000 in order to be deemed ‘a winner’ of the event. Everyone is a winner if you write 50,000, even if it is gibberish. (By the way, this post was meant to mention the gibberish I was writing last night and the incredible clearing I’m feeling this morning. I might still get to it.). Anyway, I wrote the first draft of Deep River last year. This year, during NaNoWriMo (21 days, 14 hours and 42 minutes left), I am trying to write 50,000 words of the non-fiction (I know its a novel writing month, but I’m constantly pushing the envelope, gee what a hero!), Abundance. Up until last night, that wasn’t going along that badly. I got a bit sidetracked setting up this blog, then setting up a blog for the novel and then one for the non fiction book. And then putting up the children’s book. And then working on the novel or the children’s book when I should really be working on Abundance (no pun intended). Too many shoulds. Its all pretty grand actually, and the first 8,000 words of Abundance didn’t seem that bad. Understand, this is a first draft and it can be really rough. But writing on a published blog has pushed me, for the most part, to try to keep the gibberish to a minimum.

Well that was until last night. Last night I worked until 11 pm and the whole thing was shit. Well, first I did some bookkeeping stuff for this small business I’m trying to create. That part went ok, but it brings me into this very rational place. The subsequent writing didn’t go anywhere. In an effort to get something typed I feel into, you guessed it, gibberish. But that’s my perception. I’m not going to tell you where the gibberish is. You might find it, you mind find all of this gibberish. Too bad!

Cut to two days prior. I has printed out an article from the excellent website What is Enlightenment, for which a link is located in the sidebar under Spirituality. The article is quite long. It is called The Never-Ending Upward Quest by Jessica Roemischer. (Jessica, I hope I can find the time and attention span to write you a nice note on your website or via email or something about this article, it is truly excellent.) I don’t have a date for the article, so it may not be anything brand spanking new. The subject matter of the article is Spiral Dynamics and it includes an interview with one of the developers of Spiral Dynamics, Dr. Don Beck.

The rest of this blog has been posted on the Abundance blogsite. The blog was inspired by the Spiral Dyanmics article. It really brought up a lot of creative connections with other facets of this broader subject of a sustainable culture and eco-psychology. The initial intent of the blog was to draw out some of these parallels. In the process, I anticipated getting away from a description of what I had learned about Spiral Dynamics, and thought the writing would expand into the deeper, fundmantal connections I was sensing. Instead, the powerful use of colors in the Spiral Dynamics model kept popping up in my interpretation. The various phases of human consciousness described by the model each are assigned a color. The way these colors diffract and recombine in the model, including combining with the colors of future levels of human consciousness, is fascinating and informative.

Leave a Reply

Categories

